Facebook University – How Facebook influences the U-experience!?


Created by: Online PhD

Tagged with:
Posted in Flat Education
36 comments on “Facebook University – How Facebook influences the U-experience!?
  1. This research confirms things I already noticed: Facebook really helps students with their studies.

    For example: Our XM2 class has a page were members of our class notify each other of important information like tasks that are posted on Blackboard. We our constantly in touch with eachother. In that way, each of us helps increase our classmates chances to complete all of their tasks in time.

  2. Carlos Romero says:

    I completely agree with this post. Actually, one can see this fact in the most of classes. Me and my classmates from International Business Course in KdG all the time are using Facebook for doing homeworks in groups or just for meet between us when we have to do some work. Moreover, facebook is a key if you are an international student, for instance to meet new people, new places, housing, traveling and so on.

  3. Judith Bote says:

    Facebook is beneficial for students. If some years ago I read that headline I would not believe it, but it seems to me that thinks have changed. At the beginning Facebook was used for chatting and sharing photos but now it offers you the possibility to create events and groups. They are very useful when you want to meet with friends but also for making university works. Most of the students who are in Facebook check it more than 5 times per day. So, it is easier, quicker and for free, if you have to set a day for meeting or exchange the information that each one have found.

    I have groups with friends and classmates and I must say that they are really helpful. When you have a doubt or a question about one subject you just have to write it on Facebook and some of your classmates will solve your problem. Years ago, we were more limited because we probably would not call classmates which we nearly don’t talk with but using Facebook we all can help each other.

    I must admit that sometimes I spend more time on Facebook than I should. I lose my time when I should be studying but all of us know which is the limit. If we use Facebook correctly it can be very helpful for students. I also have faculties as friends and I think there is no problem. They can see what I let them see as well as the rest of friends. So, we only have to use it properly. Apart from that, Facebook and all social networks help us to keep friendships. Without all them we probably would loss the contact with all those people who live far away from us.

  4. Anna Payret says:

    I agree about what others have already posted and I just can repeat more or less the same. I’m an IBC student and Facebook has been very helpful for my Erasmus experience; not only for being in touch with my home friends, but also for meeting new people. All Erasmus students join the group “Erasmus in Antwerpen, Karel de Grote Hogeschool, 2011 – 2012”, so it was an easy way to know each other and to organize parties or excursions. Now we also use it to solve doubts related on homework or other issues related on KdG (e.g. how to use the copy machine, timetables of the shop, etc.).

    Doing group works is easy thanks to FB. I can’t imagine now how I could set a meeting day with a group of an unknown people without FB. The first thing I do when I have a group work is create a FB group as students check FB at least once per day and so it is an easy (and free) way to communicate.

    …but yes, sometimes I spend too much time gossiping on FB instead of doing my assignments!

  5. Mara Van der Auwera says:

    When I became a Facebook member, it was a real distraction to me.
    I couldn’t focus on my school work, because I always wanted to check my notifications and news adds of my Facebook friends.
    I was actually just… wasting my time.

    Since I started my cross media management studies, it really helps me with my studies.
    I really learn something from Facebook.
    Since we started the secret cross media group on Facebook, we’re able to help each other out quickly.
    We share a lot of posts that are really interesting for digital natives.

    Of course it isn’t always about school, we also plan activities with the whole group.
    It really helps us connect!

  6. I’ve been on Facebook a lot longer, than most of my friends and my fellow students in XM² probably. Mostly because I’m around four years older than most of them.. And yes, it’s very remarkable how much has changed throughout the years.

    For example, nowadays there are a lot more younger and ‘older’ people on Facebook.

    Facebook, when I started using it, was more like a 17-24 ‘age’ thing. Now it has.. well basically no borders what so ever. Some parents even already make a Facebook for their newborn babies, etc.. (but that’s just ridiculous).

    What I think is very interesting in the statistics shown above is the following : ‘Facebook has benefits for students’ – and this, is really true. As Kristiaan stated above, I’m the founder of the XM² Students ‘private’ group on Facebook.. This group has already a lot of helpful content (and also a lot of jokes, pictures, etc.. ofcourse) – But for example.. when something gets announced on BlackBoard by a teacher, most of the time, within the hour, it’s also on our Facebook group, because that’s just easier, as a reminder.

    I can’t really imagine (and, it’s probably quite sad to say) a life without Facebook.. To me it has been such a great help in terms of networking, finding some old friends, etc.. and it really is a very complete network.

    I use Facebook all the @#?$£ time ! 😀

  7. Juan José Cerdán Garcia says:

    I agree with this post. The friends that you can make are just one of the many benefits to social networking online. Another one of those benefits includes diversity because the internet gives individuals from all around the world access to social networking sites. Not only will you make new friends, but you just might learn a thing or two about new cultures or new languages and learning is always a good thing.

    Social networking often involves grouping specific individuals or organizations together, for example Erasmus KdG 2011/2012. Anyone can become a member, no matter what their hobbies, beliefs, or views are. However, once you are inside this online community, you can begin to create your own network of friends and eliminate members that do not share common interests or goals.

  8. If it wasn’t for Facebook, I would’ve missed some tests and task deadlines already 😀 Having a group on facebook that connects the people from a class is really helpful. It’s easy to share content, ask questions, stay in contact with teachers and classmates, make appointments for groupworks, announce tasks and tests, … . And I get to know the people from my class better. Their interests, what they do in their spare time, … .

  9. Our facebook XM² group has helped us all a lot, a lot of people already ‘knew’ eachother before the first day at school, this made it easier to get to know eachother better and having a positive vibe in class.
    Without the facebookgroup we all would have missed a lot of deadlines, when teachers post something on blackboard it takes ages for everybody to read it.But on facebook everybody has read in the first couple of hours it was shared.

  10. I think that teachers should make more use of Facebook. There are a few teachers who make really use of Facebook like Peter Decuypere, Bram Vos and Tom Fleerackers… But the majority of the theachers dont make use of Facebook.

    For example: today a teacher was sick, she posted it on BlackBoard. But nobody read it. I bet 90% (if not more) of the students would’ve read this if this post was on Facebook.

    Result: people who skipped first lesson came to school for nothing…

  11. “Active facebook users are more likely to stay in college.”

    This pretty much sums it up. In order to make it in this world, you need to connect. And what better way to do that than through social media? The time where the student is locked in his room for nights and days is (almost) over, social media allows students to co-operate much better in ways never before seen. Just like the numerous comments here, we are all experiencing it right now. Before I started studying XM², i was active on 2 social media platforms. Now, I’m using 6 different platforms frequently!

  12. I think Facebook isn’t as bad as some teachers say, in my opinion, Facebook is something you could use for school, at work, at home, everywhere. In class, teachers could use it, for the interaction between teacher and students. Nowadays, we have Blackboard, but when a teacher posts something on Blackboard, students can hardly reply. They could send an e-mail, but I think it’s too personal. When you have your teachers on Facebook, they can choose what they want to share, and they can be in classgroups, like some of our teachers do.
    They can see what happens in the class, what the questions are and monitor the group. They can react immediately. I think, when a teacher is in a group, it’s really more formal, and it’s all about school.
    When a teacher posts an assignment on Facebook, they are sure everybody has read it. Everybody checks Facebook more than they check Blackboard.

  13. I quickly would like to say that I’m very happy that a lot of people mention the fact that XM² has a private Facebook group in which we help eachother out.. Really feels good knowing that people love and use something you created, on a daily and regular basis.

  14. Facebook is for me something that is good and bad at the same time. I get lots of help and support true facebook. But it is also really distracting, sometimes when you need to study and the facebook chat opens or a discussion on a group is starting. You lose so much time but I can’t close it. I can admit that I am one of many who is addicted to facebook and need to be updated the whole time. To scared to miss some important piece of information. And this is not always good while studying

  15. I compare Facebook to a Hypermarket, you can find almost everything at one place. You stay connected with friends and family but most of all it’s a source of information and a reminder of important appointments.

    Like some already mentioned, it’s the fastest and easiest way to get the latest updates about what’s going on in class.

  16. Rob Janssens says:

    Well this flowchart sure says the truth. During classes I’m most of the time on facebook, just because it’s so easy to start it up and start a conversation with a person, in terms of commenting or chatting in our facebook group.

    Especially our facebook group has a huge succes in our group. It’s so easy to create a note for other people as a reminder for a task or an event in our group.
    Althought I don’t think the fact that people that don’t use a lot of facebook are not that social. Most of the time they don’t have time for it or not that computer addicted like we are 😀

  17. An Nelen says:

    Facebook is a big help at the moment because everybody I know uses it. Also for school, people of the class put different questions and interesting sites on it that could really help you with preparing for tasks.

    Although I don’t think facebook will last forever. It might happen that a lot of people will leave facebook because of the changing privacy regulations. It will make facebook a lot more difficult to work with.

  18. Can’t agree more. FB has helped me finding old friends I lost contact with. It has given me the chance the reach out the some bands to take pictures of them. It has changed a lot in my way of dealing with school, like for example that FB group thingy XMM has. It came in handy when I missed some lessons 🙂

    Before FB, I used MSN all the time, now I don’t even have it on my computer, I just don’t need that. FB chat is much more useful and simple then MSN messenger. So now I use FB chat or Skype to communicate.

    FB is now the biggest social network site, but I’m guessing something will be overruled by other sites. Time will tell

  19. Daan Stevens says:

    For the most part I agree with the iflowchart, facebook does help me with school and I thank it for that. But facebook also takes time I could have used to learn a skill that I could have used later in life but that is a choice I make ( and somethimes regret).

    Facebook is great for keeping intouch with people an facebook also opens new doors but I still prefer the real social contact, a smiley can not compair to a genuin smile and a chat does not compair to a conversation.

  20. Xavi Repi says:

    In my opinion, Facebook has become a really useful tool for students. I always use it to talk with my classmates in order to be updated with everything related to my studies.
    A good example of how Facebook is becoming so important is my brother. He has started the university this year and he and his classmates are using Facebook intensively. They share the results of the assignments with each other and they also help each other with the exercises. So, thanks to this social network they can work everywhere at any time. I think social networks will be very important in educational terms in the future because they are very helpful.
    However, I think that the negative point is that there are many things on Facebook which can amuse students. On Facebook you can play games, chat with your friends, check photos, etc. and you can do it everywhere at any time as well.
    To sum up, I think it will become more and more important in our educational life but we will have to be able to manage it.

  21. Maarten Weyn says:

    Yup , i think facebook helps me out a lot, because when I open up my browser and put on facebook, it tells me what I can do in the weekend and i can look at some cool things that my friend’s post on there walls, it even helps me to see wen tasks have to bee delivered and wen the test’s are and it even helps me to hold contact with members of my family that live on the other side of the earth.

  22. I totally agree with this theory. Facebook is a genius invention for students and/or older people like you and me, because of the social interaction there is when you use this social medium.

    Our XM2 Facebook page is a perfect example of this phenomenon. If you got any questions, opinions or concerns about something (that is school related off course), you just have to post your message on the wall of this group. On a average day you will get in less than 5 minutes the answer you were looking for.

    But Facebook is not an advantage without disadvantages. I believe that Facebook can have a bad influence on students too. For example: when a student has to make a task online, Facebook could operate as an ideal distraction for them (I speak from experience).

    The growth of the number of Facebook users is incredible, and I am very curious about the further evolution of this online platform!

  23. Svenja says:

    Wow, that is really an interesting post and I think it is really the time to think about consequences of using social networks in relation to the performance at school.

    In my opinion there is no way to stop the evolution…..I think professors, lecturers, educational institutions in general should be aware of the situation and try to use it.

    I really like the idea of some courses here at KDG where all class mates have to join the specific class-group on Facebook. Because the students will spend a lot of their free time on FB anyway….so why don’t use it also for education?!

    I also think that students mostly are appreciating this procedure….because it is much more handy for them to just connect with their classmates over FB and always be up-to-date. Of course there are other good platformes like Blackboard or Moodle….but the problem there is, that we as students especially have to go there, just to check the information about one special course…..and to be honest, sometimes even that can be annoying….. But if we can check our homework or anything else just while we are chatting on FB or “liking” some new sites, than it is very easy and we save time
    I think the educational board should not shut their eyes against this progress and try to use it for their purposes.

    Of course we have to be aware not to abuse this possibility and only contact virtually……after all I have to agree with my foreposters, that it is important HOW we use it and not to exaggerate and overestimate the meaning of it……………
    because otherwise we run the risk of losing the sense for reality and the actually important things in life!

  24. Alfredo Morreel says:

    I must admit I have developed a (small) Facebook addiction over the years, but this hasn’t affected my other social activities/life.
    I check the site almost every day: on my laptop or smartphone.
    Its possibilities are endless, people often don’t see that and only use it to attract attention or create drama.
    For me, Facebook is the ultimate tool to check if there’s a party tonight, how long lost friends are doing, communicating with oversees family and see epic pictures.

    Facebook is in fact useful for school and all the changes it has made in the years were only for the good.

  25. Alba Palacios Gómez says:

    Is amazing how Facebook can change our lifes and influence positively in our studies, if you know how to use, of course.
    For example, I have some private groups on Facebook with my classmates for almost each subject, because it’s easier to talk there if you have to do some groupwork or some assigment. By the way, the last year my Marketing teacher from Spain also create a group to follow the subjects, and it was so interesting how everybody, not only the teacher, was sharing news, videos, links and all that stuff related to the subject. And I’m sure if we only have had Moodle to share contents, it wouldn’t have been the same, because in Moodle only teachers can put things, but on Facebook everybody can take part in it.

  26. That facebook has become wildly popular in the world is definitely not a hidden fact, I am surprised however by some of the numbers of the early facebook: I never realised in one year alone they had achieved over a million users! I was surprised by the statement that facebook has benefits for the students, naturally I should’ve known that a site that started as a social website for students, has benefits for the students (not to mention my own experience using facebook for education).

  27. Facebook has both positive and negative influences on students, but if you make the equasion the positive aspects outmatch the negative ones. In computer classes students miss parts of those classes because they are on facebook, but then again they share information on that same class on facebook after, keeping them up to date with what has been said.
    Facebook has become a part of my life holding a share almost equal to eating and sleeping, but it does not take over my life, it is merely helpful and enriching.

  28. Facebook helping students with their studies is true, just considering they can talk with their colleagues online, in a friendly environment. People being closer to each other already help them getting through school, adding on top of that, people can share their resumes. Help people who forgot about tasks, who don’t understand a certain subject.
    Facebook didn’t just changed our social lives, but also our school and professional lives!

  29. Juliane Siebelts says:

    I agree with the most of you here.

    In general, Facebook is definitely helpful like for keeping in touch with old friends, checking out events, being updated about news, and so on.
    For me it became something like a part of my life during the last years. I’m signed in for about 4 years now and checking my Facebook-account several times per day. As I am an Erasmus-student, I can still be updated about my friend’s daily life back home and I know what they are doing, thinking, etc. – of course it is not exactly the same like being with them “in real”. Also I can share with them my experiences here in Belgium. On the other hand I have the impression that there exist some people who forget about their real life because they just care about how many likes they get for their last comment or picture. It is also to add, that some people have to be careful about what they are posting, some day they’ll may regret it and as we know Facebook won’t forget anything!

    However, with reference to using Facebook as a student I have to say it helped me a lot in the last few months. Before coming to Antwerp I was already able to communicate with other Erasmus-students from the IBC and we had the possibility to change opinions about finding an accomodation and these things. We created several groups. There is one group for all of us, where we talk about our freetime-activities and general helpful things. There are also other groups concerning our courses, where we can help each other or work together. Till now Facebook wasn’t used that much at my university in Germany like it is here, but I think it will change shortly, because they can’t avoid it today.
    But I have to confess as well, that Facebook cost me already a lot of hours, in which I was actually supposed to learn for an exam or to prepare tasks for school. Facebook is one of the best avocations I know. But anyway, I couldn’t imagine to abstain from it nowadays.

  30. Carmen Tallos Del Río says:

    When I joined facebook I did it to keep in touch with my foreign friends that I have met during an English course in England in 2006. I never thought I could have any use for classes and study but I’ve noticed that it is not.
    In Spain, there weren´t a lot of people that use facebook for that purpose but since I’m in the Karel de Grote, I don´t stop using it, both, to meet with the people and to talk about the work we have to do for classes.

    I hope that more and more people give these uses and not fall into the mistake of leaving open facebook chat when they are studying. It´s fine to talk by chat with your friends in your spare time or to discuss about some work but it shouldn´t be opened while you are studying!

  31. Stéphanie says:

    It’s so annoying when It’s weekend and people from school keep bugging you with school stuff. Please… wait until Monday. It brings me in ”not-wanting-to-go-on-Facebook” mode.

    However, it is very helpful. For example creating groups for different courses helps having a good overview of which has to be done and when. It is also a faster way of communicating.

  32. Bart Ufkes says:

    Yes, Facebook is definitely helpful for a student especially if you have a lot of different groups for all the subjects. Meeting up for each different project can become a burden so with the ability to create a group for a specific subject only available for your group mates you can safely discuss the work at the comfort of your own home.
    it even increases the time I spend ‘thinking’ about the assignment because if i’m waiting for my train or whatever I usually check my Facebook on my phone and if someone has posted a reaction in the group I tend to read it and think about it and usually post a reply as well.

  33. Lara Jansen says:

    I totally agree with the most of you here. I’m an Erasmus student at Karel de Grote-Hogeschool and for me Facebook has become an important part of my life, even if it’s just a social network. You are able to stay connected with your family, with your friends here in Antwerp as well as with those at home and even with your lecturers or universities. In my home country Germany or rather at my home institution in the Netherlands the teachers don’t use Facebook that much. But when I came to Antwerp to study International Business for one semester it changed totally. Since I have been living here, I’m using Facebook regularly in order to be up-to-date with news, group meetings; whether a subject won’t take place, changes of assignments or just the plans for tonight. You simply can stay in touch with each other very quickly and at no charge.

    You can create groups for the subjects of your studies and even though you don’t believe – you can learn via Facebook by interchanging ideas with your classmates or asking them questions in case you don’t know a certain thing. Furthermore, it has facilitated the way of doing group work. So, you easily can communicate on Facebook with your group members about the project you have to do for instance. But principally it is very useful for international students in order to meet new people, get to know new cultures and places and search for accommodation when you will study abroad.

    I’m checking my Facebook account several times per day and to be honest I don’t want to miss it, although I’m sometimes spending more time on it than I actually should, instead of doing assignments for university. Facebook really changed the way students do everything – whether making friends, dating or just sharing stories or experiences. I can imagine, and thus I can agree to the research done, that it is the most used social network, beyond doubt among students like you and me. It is simply enriching our lives!

    However, it’s not all roses! Facebook also implies disadvantages; almost all of us will know them. Students are on Facebook even if they are busy and have to do lots of work. They are distracted by new posts, new pictures or photos as well as games or other applications and they don’t want to miss anything. So, time flies when commenting on a post here, looking at a photo there, you are really taken in the world of Facebook and you can’t do anything in order to escape. Maybe it sounds exaggerated, but some people are addicted to Facebook or rather to checking it for updates or news. Because of this you have to be careful about using it. Finally, be aware of the fact that your future boss might check you out on Facebook or other social networks or communities. So, be careful what you are going to publish for the whole world to see, because Facebook never forgets!

    I think in the future Facebook will become an integral part of the education systems all over the world. We have to wait what will come next, but I’m sure that the university of the future will mainly be based on new technologies and social networks. Wait and see! 🙂

  34. Emma Armstrong says:

    This is a very interesting topic because I think all of us here, and students across the world, have a love/hate relationship with Facebook.

    I think it would be impossible to try and work out whether Facebook has helped me more in my studies than it has failed me. Sometimes I feel like it’s just an addiction and wish that I could go back to writing with a pen and paper and not have the temptation constantly there. But often I realise the massive advantages it offers at the same time.

    I would say that the quality of work has improvement because of facebook’s contribution. Now, if anyone is stuck on an assignment, unsure of what is requested of them it literally only takes two minutes to ask a group on facebook and they will be set back in the right direction. Also whenever a team is created to work on a group project a private group will be created on facebook to have all members of that team contributed work, posting tips to each other and making notes about meeting times and other types of info. And the great thing about having some of your education on facebook – you can’t avoid it and you can’t lie about having not seen it. If you try, it’s a pretty lousy excuse.

    I think that the ‘old-style’ facebook was based much more on little addictives to keep you logged on and wasting time on meaningless games and such. But now Facebook has definitely grown up and seems a lot smarter. It’s not just about liking photos and making commenting on silly statuses anymore, it’s infact become an amazing platform for the sharing of really valuable and educational information.

  35. Rodrigo Gelle says:

    What a nicely designed infographic! I can only root for the use of Facebook in education. This reminds me of how people from my class had added me on facebook, when I had not even met them in person. I do however think that Facebook is not the most perfect medium for education, since it has a lot of content that can only distract a person.

  36. As a student i can relate to this Infographic, i have personally experienced how helpfull and how destructive facebook can be during college. I also personally experienced the amazing growth of Facebook among college students. i believe in a way it can really help to gain certain information like for example about the exact study material or verify that you have been given the good information with other students. And in theory it’s even possible to contact a student who is a year ahead of you and ask specific questions about last years exam. But what happen’s alot while i’m on facebook while i should be studying is other students start talking to me and asking me questions which makes me feel insecure when i don’t know the answer while it’s perfectly possible i know a lot of the material.

    So overal i think it’s better to leave facebook turned off while studying and by doing so not get distracted or stressed out by other students 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 832 other followers

Flat World Poll
  • 319,104 hits
