PEW research on the digital native

Reading, writing & research in the digital age is the title of a PEW research institute on how the digital revolution has influenced the digital native. Interesting round-up of figures, stats and graphs on media use of the digital natives (up until 2009)….and that’s the one down part of this research it’s only until 2009. You, and me, know that 2 years time in a digital age is a lifetime….but still these figures confirm most insights we already knew about digital natives! I’ll round-up the best….you can scroll to through the whole presentation at the end!

  • In less than 10 years time Internet usage of teens (12-17y) and young adults (18-29y)  as grown to almost 95%. But we still see a significant difference between all adults and youngsters Internet use (although the oldest generations are also finding their way on to the Internet).
  • 98% of teens use the Internet for school assignments. 48% does so on daily basis.
  • Youngsters are more likely to share content, remix and blog then adults.
  • The gap of cell phone ownership between parents (90%) and teens (75%) narrows!
  • 35% of youngsters own a smart phone.
  • Teens still use their cell phone most of the time to text message (or take pictures)
  • AnyTime, Any Where and Any Place is the new ecosystem of teens.
  • 82% of 14-17 year olds are active on a social network system.

And this is only 2009….wonder what 2011 brings!

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Flat Lifestyle
5 comments on “PEW research on the digital native
  1. I was actually wondering the last couple of days if KDG had intentions to do an app for our rosters, that would be really handy 😉

  2. Anna Payret says:

    I’ve just saw the presentation “Reading, writing & research in the digital age” and I’m really impressed or even shocked. First of all I want to say that I’m 21 and I just felt old. I knew that I was not a digital native but, you know, when I was 12 years old my parents bought (for the whole family) the first computer with internet connection! When I was a teen I was used to do some of my assignments by computer but not all of them. Nevertheless I used dictionaries books and encyclopedias for searching information. I’ve got the first mobile phone when my mum bought a new one for her, I was around 13 and I used it only sometimes. However I do not feel like a digital immigrant, my parents are that. So I think that I’m between both concepts because I was born just before the general introduction of digital technology.

    Anyway, and referring to the presentation, obviously digital natives’ lives are connected with the digital world. Those kids are growing up surrounded by toys and tools of digital age (videogames, digital music players, computer games, email, cell phones, etc.). In my opinion their relationships with friends and school assignments are the most influenced aspects. They are connected all day (any time) with their friends as nowadays a lot of devices have internet connection from anywhere. The current educational system was designed to teach a kind of students that no longer exists. That’s why still some issues have to be changed in this path.

    Generation born digital are less afraid of internet and so they share more information, buy items through the net and upload photos that a lot of people can see. They want freedom in everything they do. They want to have freedom to choice among different options and freedom to express themselves.

    I think that in some way parents should be stricter with their children as, for example, using the smartphone in class is not the best thing to do when you are 12 as well as sharing pictures with everybody. However this is really difficult as in most of the cases children know more than parents about new technologies.

    • Fabien BRENIER says:

      @Anna Payret: What do you mean when you say that parents should be stricter with their children?
      For me, teens are connected all the time and share much more than the other, because it’s a way to stay out of the eyes of their parents/teacher. Maybe the parents shouldn’t be more strict but they have to advice them about privacy and that internet never forget anything. But to do this they need to know the tools used by their childrens …

  3. Lara Jansen says:

    According to the PEW research on the digital native, teens from the age of 12 until 17 are categorized as digital natives, since they use the Internet even more than young adults (18 – 29 years). In less than 10 years time the Internet usage of teens and young adults has grown to almost 95%. But as researched, there is still a significant difference between all adults’ and youngsters’ Internet use. Nevertheless, I feel like a digital native as well since I don’t feel like a digital immigrant! But what are the characteristics of digital natives and am I really one of them at 21? I’m not sure about it, although I thought so, before reading the outcomes of this research.

    I grew up with digital techniques and new media, so that I got used to handle a computer from an early age. Real digital natives instead, are even more familiar with such technologies, because they were born into the era of technology. I was just born before the official introduction of new technology. I still remember, when I attended primary school, my parents bought our first computer with Internet connection. From that time on, I started to use it more and more from year to year. Firstly, I only wrote some assignments on the computer while still using dictionaries and other lexica to search for information. Later on, I got used to search on the Internet and writing emails. In my view I have adapted quite fast to the new technology. Today I have got a laptop and I’m online almost all the time to share information with friends or to post blogs within social networks.

    I’m not a digital immigrant, for sure. But according to the research done, I’m not a digital native either. So, I have to be something in between, rather close to a real digital native. For example, I’m able to solve problems relating to the computer or laptop that my parents would not be able to solve as so-called digital immigrants. Moreover, I am using the web browsers Mozilla Firefox and Opera instead of the Internet Explorer, because in my view they are much faster and more user-friendly. Certainly, how could it be otherwise, I am a member of different social networks like LinkedIn and Facebook. Besides, I subscribed on the German networks SchülerVZ and StudiVZ and I know how those networks work. I’m familiar with online shopping as well. The Internet offers you a big range of online shops, which are selling clothes, books and so on. On eBay you even can find almost anything you are searching for! Of every notable programme there is a free version available online, you only have to find it. Instead of paying for Microsoft Office you can download for example Open Office for free. You also can edit your photos with free programmes like GIMP or Picasa, so that you need not to buy Photoshop or the like. In those days, when there had not been instant messengers like ICQ, MSN or Yahoo!, I often chatted in public chat rooms. I even created my own website, but meanwhile it must be deleted. Last but not least, I know which links I can trust and which could be dangerous and might be high-cost.

    You can see, I know quite a lot about the Internet and how to use it, like almost everyone at my age. So, why am I not a digital native? Well, I think I was born just a little bit too early to belong to the group of digital natives.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 834 other followers

Flat World Poll
  • 330,642 hits
